The National Bloc leaders meeting at the residence of the Tawfiq al-Qabbani in 1928

Views: 26537

Standing behind the podium is Fawzi al-Ghazzi, author of Syria’s first republican constitution who was murdered by his wife later that same year. Other figures can be spotted by numbers: 1) Tawfiq al-Shishakli 2) Faris al-Khury 3) Fakhri al-Barudi 4) Najib al-Barazi 5) Abdul Rahman Kayyali 6) Hashem al-Atasi, the Bloc President 7) Gibran Tweini, publisher of al-Nahhar 8) Husni al Barazi 9) Nizar Qabbani, as a little child, in his father’s home.